LEASE CONTRACTS: NEW REGISTRATION PROCEDURE A new registration procedure of private lease contracts with the tax authorities entered into force a few days ago, after the Order no. 114/2019 of the National Agency for Fiscal Administration concerning the lease contracts registration procedure was published in the Official Journal no. 109/2019 together with the template and the content of “The lease contract registration application”.

The NAFA’s order establishes that lease contracts registration via electronic means is possible as well. Another change brought about by the Order is the unique registration procedure applicable for both natural persons and legal entities.

ACCOUNT FOR THE SETTLEMENT

The lawmaker introduced the new registration procedure of lease contracts with tax authorities in order to recognize the enforceability of lease contracts, as under the Romanian Civil Code, the payment of the lease due under private lease contracts registered with tax authorities has an enforceable character.

Before the Tax Code was amended in 2018 by the Emergency Ordinance no. 18/2018, when the “Unique Declaration was introduced, the taxpayers obtaining rental income would have to submit a statement about the estimated income, within 30 days from the conclusion of the lease contract. Furthermore, the lease contract was to be registered with the tax authorities within the same period. The Emergency Ordinance no. 18/2018 precluded the obligation of registration of the lease contract with tax authorities, as well as the Unique Declaration.

According to the new NAFA order no. 114/2019, taxpayers can register their lease contracts with tax authorities in order to make the payment of the lease enforceable. In case the lessee does not pay the lease as established under the contract, the lessor who registered the lease contract can obtain the direct compulsory execution of the lessee’s obligations.

THE NEW REGISTRATION PROCEDURE

The new lease contracts registration procedure is a unique procedure and the distinction between the status of the lessor – natural person or legal entity – is no longer made.

In fact, if the former regulation supposed a different procedure for the registration of lease contracts according to whether the lessor was a natural person or a legal entity, the new regulation requires a single procedure, irrespective of the status of the lessor.

The NAFA’s order also allows stipulates the possibility to register lease contracts by electronic means.

Furthermore, the new procedure also simplifies the registration formalities for changes or termination of the lease contract: there is only one form to be filled and submitted. The taxpayer needs to check the applicable option on the form, either “Change” or “Termination, as it may be the case, and submit the form together with supporting documents.
The submission date of the file with the competent tax authority or the registration date on the portal is considered to be registration date of the lease agreement, of any change or termination of the lease contract.

It is to be noted that the competent tax body for the registration of lease contracts is the tax office to which the address/ registered office of the resident lessor is assigned, in the case of non-resident lessors, the one to which the asset is assigned to.

CONTRATS DE LOCATION : NOUVELLE PROCEDURE D’ENREGISTREMENT Une nouvelle procédure d’enregistrement des contrats de location sous seing privé auprès des autorités fiscales est entrée en vigueur depuis quelques jours, après la publication au Journal Officiel no 109/2019 de l’Ordre no 114/2019 de l'Agence Nationale d’Administration Fiscale (ANAF) relatif à la procédure d'enregistrement des contrats de location, ainsi que le modèle et le contenu de la "Demande d'enregistrement du contrat de location".
L’Ordre de l’ANAF, consacre la possibilité d'enregistrer les contrats de location y compris par électronique. Une autre nouveauté apportée par l’Ordre est que la procédure d’enregistrement a été unifiée par rapport aux formalités à suivre par les personnes physiques ou morales.

LA RAISON DE LA REGLEMENTATION

Le législateur a institué la procédure d’enregistrement des contrats de location auprès des autorités fiscales en vue de reconnaître le caractère exécutoire des contrats de location. Le Code civil roumain confère un caractère exécutoire aux paiements du loyer des contrats de location conclus par des actes sous seing privée enregistrés auprès des autorités fiscales.

Avant la modification du Code fiscal en 2018, par l’Ordonnance d’urgence n° 18/2018 qui avait introduit la « Déclaration unique », les assujettis qui obtenaient des revenus locatifs étaient tenus de faire une déclaration concernant le revenu estimé, dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la date de signature du contrat de location. Dans le même délai, ils étaient tenus d’enregistrer aussi le contrat de location. L’ordonnance d’urgence n°18/2018 avait éliminé l’obligation d’enregistrement auprès des autorités fiscales du contrat de location, en même temps que la Déclaration unique.

Selon le nouvel ordre d’ANAF no 114/2019, les contribuables peuvent enregistrer leurs contrats de location auprès des autorités fiscales afin d’obtenir un titre exécutoire pour le paiement du loyer. Dans le cas où le locataire ne paye pas son loyer conformément au contrat, le bailleur ayant enregistré le contrat de location peut obtenir directement l’exécution forcée du locataire.

LA NOUVELLE PROCEDURE D’ENREGISTREMENT

La nouvelle procédure d’enregistrement des contrats de location est une procédure unique et la distinction selon la qualité du bailleur – personne physique ou personne morale – n’a plus lieu d’être.
En effet, si l’ancienne règlementation prévoyait une procédure différente pour l’enregistrement des contrats de location selon que le bailleur était une personne physique ou une personne morale, désormais la nouvelle règlementation institue une seule procédure, quelle que soit le statut du locateur.
L’ordre de l’ANAF consacre aussi la possibilité de faire un enregistrement du contrat de location par voie électronique.
La nouvelle procédure donne également la possibilité d’enregistrer la modification ou la résiliation du contrat de location par un seul et même formulaire, en cochant l'option "Modification" ou "Résiliation", accompagné des pièces justificatives.
La date d'enregistrement du contrat de location, de modification ultérieure ou de résiliation est la date de dépôt de la demande auprès de l'autorité fiscale centrale compétente ou la date de son enregistrement sur le portail.
A noter que l’organe fiscal compétent pour l’enregistrement des contrats de location est celui du domicile / siège du bailleur résident ou celui du lieu de situation du bien en cas de bailleur non-résident.