The GRUIA DUFAUT Law Office supported the Association “Istoria Artei” in publishing the album honoring the French architect Ernest Doneaud

„A renowned American architect, Richard Meier, said that architecture connects the present with the past and the tangible with the intangible. This event gives us the opportunity to make a short trip into the city’s architectural past, as well as in its tangible cultural heritage. It also offers a beautiful perspective on the “intangible” link between Romanian and French cultures”, declared Mrs. Dana GRUIA DUFAUT at the release of the album dedicated to Ernest Doneaud (1879-1959). By courtesy of the French Embassy in Romania and of the Manager of the French Institute, Mr. Christophe GIGAUDAUT, the release of the album was held on Thursday, January 28, 2016, at Villa Noel in Bucharest, which was built after the plans of Ernest Doneaud.

“This veritable Frenchman, born in Romania, educated in Paris, who became a Romanian citizen, is a faithful interpreter of his time. His buildings reflect the architectural styles trending at that time, as well as the exposure of Bucharest to the influence of French architecture (…) the mark left by French influence can be seen in Romanian culture and behavior, in architecture, law, literature. Of course, this influence was not the only one, but it was the strongest and most efficient. For Romanians, France also represented a pathway to success. This pathway still exists and needs to be shown to our contemporaries”, underlined Mrs. GRUIA DUFAUT.

The publishing of the memorial album was supported by the GRUIA DUFAUT Law Office, as well as by other companies and institutions in Romania.

During the event, the book was presented to a wide audience by Mrs. Oana Marinache, from the “Istoria Artei” Association, Mrs. Dana GRUIA DUFAUT and Mrs. Ioana Feodorov, from the “Sanda si Virgul Candea” Foundation.

An outstanding figure of the Bucharest society of the first half of the 20th century, the architect Ernest Albert Léonce Alexandre Doneaud (1879-1959) has a well-deserved place in the history of Romanian architecture.

Born in Bucharest, son of Frenchmen Josef Emile Edouard Doneaud and Louise Manoël, established in Bucharest and owners of a construction company, Ernest studies at the Schewitz-Thierrin Institute for boys before departing for Paris, where he continues his education at the workshop of professor Edmond Jean Baptiste Paulin. In 1907, he obtains the title of diplomat architect and member of the Diplomat Architects’ Society of the French government. Back to the country the same year, he is hired as chief architect of the technical service of the Bucharest City Hall. In 1908, Ernes also obtains Romanian citizenship. His career debuts and develops also thanks to the support of the liberal politician and Mayor of Bucharest, Vintila Bratianu (1867-1930), engineer of the League for Social Housing and of the first subdivision of Lanariei Street, as well as of the “Govora-Calimanesti” company. Doneaud also works of the Ministry of War, during the First World War.

Ernest Doneaud was member of the Board of Directors and Managing Director of the company “Constructia Moderna”, which he presides starting from 1933. In 1927, he is admitted as corresponding member of the Romanian Urban Planners’ Society. Between 1932 and 1936, he is part of the Commission for the systematization of Bucharest, before being appointed architect in the Directorate of the Superior Technical Council.

The first period of his activity is marked by the eclectic architecture of the French school: Doneaud designs several iconic villas (such as Cercul Militar) or other buildings well-liked by Bucharest’s aristocracy of the early 20th century (Nanu-Muscel, Duca, Deșliu, Dănescu, Răuțoiu, Cerkez, Filitti). The elements of the national style are rarely present in his constructions, among which we mention the Visarion Church, the Zaharoff villa, the Strajescu villa and the Palace Royal Hotel. The second period of his career is marked by modernism, when he adopts Art Deco elements. The iconic building, both by its placement on the Magheru Boulevard, and by its dimensions is Lido Palace, subsequently transformed into a hotel.

The album’s text is signed by Dr. Oana Marinache, researcher and art historian. Graphic design: Cristian Gache; photos: Lucian Bărăitaru, Nick Costandache, Iulia Crineanu, Cristian Gache, Oana Marinache, Roxana Mazilu, Cristian Oprea Oeffner, Gabriela Petrescu, Sergiu Sfetcu, Raluca Tănăsescu, Ana Traci; French translation of the foreword: Doina Gheorghe.

Le Cabinet GRUIA DUFAUT a soutenu l’Association Istoria Artei en vue de l’apparition de l’album dédié à l’architecte français Ernest Doneaud

« Un important architecte américain, Richard Meier, disait que l’architecture connecte le présent au passé et le tangible à l’intangible. L’évènement auquel nous participons aujourd’hui nous offre l’occasion de faire une courte incursion dans le passé architectural de la ville, ainsi que dans celle du patrimoine culturel tangible de Bucarest. Il nous offre aussi une belle perspective sur la liaison tangible entre la culture roumaine et celle française», a déclaré Me Dana Gruia Dufaut, lors du lancement de l’album dédié à l’architecte français Ernest Doneaud (1879-1959). Par l’amabilité de l’Ambassade de France en Roumanie et du Directeur de l’Institut Français, Monsieur Christophe GIGAUDAUT, le lancement de l’album a eu lieu, le jeudi 28 janvier 2016, à la villa Noël de Bucarest, édifice dont la construction est justement due aux plans de l’architecte Doneaud.

«L’architecte Doneaud qui est un français de souche né en Roumanie, formé à Paris, puis devenu citoyen roumain, est un fidèle interprète de son temps. Ses constructions reflètent les styles de son époque, mais aussi l’influence de l’architecture française sur Bucarest (…) l’empreinte de l’influence française se retrouve dans la culture et le comportement des roumains, dans l’architecture, dans le droit, dans la littérature. Bien-sûr, cette influence n’a pas été la seule qui s’est manifestée, mais elle a été la plus forte et la plus efficace. La France a représenté aussi pour les Roumains un modèle à suivre pour réussir. Ce modèle existe toujours et il doit être soutenu avec force et conviction auprès de nos contemporains », a souligné Me Gruia Dufaut.

La publication de l’album en mémoire de l’architecte Doneaud, a reçu le soutien du Cabinet d’Avocats GRUIA DUFAUT, ainsi que d’autres sociétés et institutions de Roumanie.

Devant un large auditoire, le livre a été présenté par Madame Oana Marinache, de l’Association « Histoire de l’Art », par Maître Dana Gruia Dufaut et par Madame Ioana Feodorov, de la Fondation « Sanda și Virgil Cândea ».

Figure de proue de la société bucarestoise de la première moitié du XXème siècle, l’architecte Ernest Albert Léonce Alexandre Doneaud (1879-1959) a une place bien-méritée dans l’histoire de l’architecture roumaine.

Né à Bucarest, dans la famille des français Josef Emile Edouard Doneaud et Louise Manoël, installés à Bucarest et propriétaires d’une entreprise de constructions, Ernest étudie à l’Institut pour les garçons Schewitz-Thierrin, avant de partir à Paris, où il continue sa formation dans l’atelier du professeur Edmond Jean Baptiste Paulin. En 1907, il obtient le titre d’architecte diplomate et membre de la Société des Architectes Diplomates du Gouvernement français. De retour en Roumanie, la même année, il est engagé comme architecte en chef du service technique de la Mairie de la capitale. En 1908, Ernest obtient aussi la citoyenneté roumaine. Sa carrière débute et prend de l’ampleur grâce aussi au soutien de l’homme politique libéral et Maire de la Capitale, Vintila Bratianu (1867-1930), artisan de la Société des Logements Sociaux et du premier lotissement de la Rue Lanariei, ainsi que de la Société « Govora-Calimanesti ». Doneaud travaille aussi pour le Ministère de la Guerre, pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale.

Ernest Doneaud a été membre du Conseil d’Administration et administrateur-délégué de la Société „La Construction Moderne”, dont il prend la présidence à partir de 1933. En 1927, il est admis comme membre correspondant de la Société des Urbanistes de Roumanie. Entre 1932-1936, il fait partie de la Commission pour la systématisation de la Capitale, avant d’être nommé architecte de la Direction du Conseil technique supérieur.

La première période de son activité porte l’empreinte de l’architecture éclectique de l’école française : Doneaud réalise plusieurs bâtiments emblématiques pour la ville de Bucarest, parmi lesquels le Cercle Militaire, ou des bâtiments du goût de l’aristocratie bucarestoise du premier quart du XXème siècle (Nanu-Muscel, Duca, Deșliu, Dănescu, Răuțoiu, Cerkez, Filitti). Les éléments du style national sont présents plus rarement dans ses constructions, dont nous rappelons l’Eglise Visarion, la villa Zaharoff, la villa Străjescu et l’Hôtel Palace Royal. La deuxième période de sa carrière s’encadre dans le courant moderniste, lorsqu’il adopte des éléments de l’Art Déco, le bâtiment le plus représentatif tant par son emplacement, que par ses dimensions étant le Palais Lido, situé sur le Boulevard Magheru, transformé ensuite en Hôtel.

Le texte de l’album est signé par le Dr. Oana Marinache, historienne de l’art, qui a fait un travail de recheche remarquable pour sortir à la lumière l’œuvre de cet architecte. Conception graphique: Cristian Gache; photos: Lucian Bărăitaru, Nick Costandache, Iulia Crineanu, Cristian Gache, Oana Marinache, Roxana Mazilu, Cristian Oprea Oeffner, Gabriela Petrescu, Sergiu Sfetcu, Raluca Tănăsescu, Ana Traci; Traduction de la préface en français: Doina Gheorghe.