SIMPLIFICATION OF BUREAUCRATIC PROCEDURES LINKED TO THE PUBLIC DOCUMENTS OF EXPATRIATES EU Citizens living or working outside their home country will benefit from simplified bureaucratic procedures and will no longer be required to provide a sworn/ official translation of their documents issued in one EU country to the authorities of another EU country following the entry into force of a new EU Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council on the 16th of February 2019 applicable in all EU member states.

In fact, the purpose of the EU Regulation’s provisions is to encourage the free movement of people by simplifying the formalities relating to some public documents (issued by a public authority or functionary of a member state, for instance, administrative documents, deeds, official declarations, etc.) across the EU.

According the European Commission’s press release, the new rules will benefit about 17 million EU citizen moving or working in another EU member state who, up until this point, have been required to obtain a stamp to prove that their public documents (such as birth, marriage or death certificate) are authentic. In addition, under these new rules, citizens are no longer required to provide a sworn/ official translation of their public documents in many situations.

SCOPE

The Regulation deals with public documents issued by the authorities of a member state, in compliance with the law applicable in that state and which must be provided to the authorities of another EU member state in the following areas:
  • birth or death certificates;
  • name, marriage, including the capacity to marry and marital status;
  • divorce, legal separation or marriage annulment;
  • registered partnership, including capacity to enter into a registered partnership and registered partnership status;
  • dissolution of registered partnership, legal separation or annulment of a registered partnership;
  • parenthood, adoption;
  • domicile and/ or residence;
  • nationality;
  • absence of a criminal record.
The Regulation also deals with public documents that EU foreign national citizens living in a member state are required to provide when they want to exercise their right to vote and stand candidate in elections to the European Parliament or in municipal elections in the member state they are living in.

To this end, the Regulation introduces multilingual standard forms to present as translation aid attached to their public documents relating to birth, death, marriage (including capacity to marry and marital status), registered partnership, including capacity to enter into a registered partnership and registered partnership status, domicile and/ or residence, and absence of criminal record. The forms are to be found here.

Note that the Regulation does not apply neither for public documents issued by the authorities of third countries, nor for authenticated copies of documents issued by the authorities of third countries and certified by the authorities of a member state.

Moreover, the Regulation does not deal with recognition of the legal effects of the content of public documents issued by the authorities of another member state.

SIMPLER FORMALITIES

Thus, EU citizens will no longer be required to address Romanian embassies or consulates to register their civil status in order for the document to be recognized by Romanian authorities and produce legal effects.

The new rules put an end to a number of bureaucratic procedures such as :
  • public documents (concerning birth, death, marriage, absence of criminal record) issued by a EU member state must be accepted as authentic by the authorities of another EU country without the need of an authenticity stamp;
  • the obligation for citizens to provide a certified copy and a sworn translation of their public documents, and, in order to avoid having their documents translated, citizens can also require a multilingual standard form to present as translation aid which can be found in all EU languages here;
  • the regulation also introduces safeguards against fraud : if a receiving authority has reasonable doubts about the authenticity of a public document, it will be able to check its authenticity with the issuing authority in the other EU country through an existing IT platform, the Internal Market System (“IMS”).
Note that public documents issued by the authorities of third countries are not covered by the scope of the Regulation herein.

Moreover, agreements and arrangements concerning the legalization of documents or similar formalities relating to matters contained in the Regulation herein issued by the authorities of EU member states or of third countries, and which are to be used in the relations between member states and the third countries concerned, cannot affect the application of the Regulation herein.

EXPATRIES: SIMPLIFICATION DE LA CIRCULATION DES ACTES ENTRE ETATS DE L’UE Les citoyens européens vivant ou travaillant dans un autre Etat membre bénéficient d’un système de dispense de la légalisation de certains actes ou des formalités simplifiés auprès des autorités locales, comme suite à l’entrée en vigueur le 16 février 2019 du Règlement (UE) 2016/1191 du Parlement Européen et du Conseil du 6 juillet 2016, dont la mise en application est immédiate et obligatoire pour tous les pays de l’Union.

En effet, les dispositions du Règlement européen visent à favoriser la libre circulation des citoyens par la simplification des conditions de présentation de certains documents publics (documents émanant d'une autorité ou d'un fonctionnaire d'un État membre, documents administratifs, actes notariés, déclarations officielles, etc.) dans l'Union européenne.

Selon un communiqué de la Commission Européenne, les nouvelles règles profiteront à environ 17 millions de citoyens de l’UE qui s'installent ou vivent dans un autre pays de l'Union et qui étaient jusqu’à maintenant tenus d’obtenir un timbre pour prouver l'authenticité de leurs documents publics (tels que un certificat de naissance, de mariage ou de décès). Au titre de ces nouvelles règles, les citoyens ne seront plus non plus tenus de fournir une traduction assermentée/officielle de leur documents publics dans de nombreux cas.

CHAMP D’APPLICATION

Le règlement s'applique aux documents publics délivrés par les autorités d'un État membre conformément au droit national de cet État et qui doivent être présentés aux autorités d'un autre État membre et dont la finalité première est d'établir un ou plusieurs des faits suivants:
  • la naissance, le fait d'être en vie (certificats de vie) ou le décès
  • le nom, le mariage, y compris la capacité en vue du mariage et la situation matrimoniale
  • le divorce, la séparation de corps et l'annulation du mariage
  • le pacs enregistré, y compris la capacité de conclure un pacs et le statut de pacsé
  • la dissolution du pacs, la séparation de corps ou l'annulation d'un pacs
  • la filiation, l'adoption
  • le domicile et/ou la résidence
  • la nationalité
  • l'absence de casier judiciaire
Le règlement s'applique également aux documents publics que des citoyens de l'Union résidant dans un État membre dont ils ne sont pas ressortissants peuvent être tenus de présenter, lorsqu'ils souhaitent par exemple exercer leur droit de vote ou d'éligibilité aux élections au Parlement européen ou aux élections municipales dans leur État membre de résidence.

A cet effet, le Règlement introduit des formulaires types multilingues comme aide à la traduction de documents publics pour ce qui concerne: la naissance, le fait d'être en vie, le décès, le mariage (y compris la capacité à mariage et la situation matrimoniale), le pacs, y compris la capacité de conclure un pacs enregistré et le statut de pacsé, le domicile et/ou la résidence, et l'absence de casier judiciaire. Les formulaires sont disponibles ici.

A noter que le Règlement ne s’applique pas aux documents publics délivrés par les autorités d’un pays tiers, ni aux copies certifiées conformes des documents publics délivrés par les autorités d’un pays tiers, établies par les autorités d’un Etat membre.

Le Règlement ne s'applique pas non plus pour la reconnaissance dans un État membre d'effets juridiques attachés au contenu de documents publics délivrés par les autorités d'un autre État membre.

SIMPLIFICATION DES FORMALITES

Les citoyens européens n’auront donc plus l’obligation de s’adresser aux ambassades ou consulats Roumains par exemple pour inscrire leurs certificats d’état civil afin de se faire reconnaître par les autorités roumaines, pour qu’elles produisent des effets juridiques.

Les nouvelles règles mettent fin à un certain nombre de procédures bureaucratiques, notamment:
  • les documents publics (concernant, par exemple, la naissance, le mariage ou l'absence de casier judiciaire) délivrés dans un pays de l'UE ne devront plus être revêtus d'un timbre d'authentification pour être acceptés comme authentiques par les autorités d'un autre État membre;
  • l'obligation pour les citoyens de produire dans tous les cas une copie et une traduction certifiées conformes de leurs documents publics; pour éviter de devoir faire traduire leurs documents publics, les citoyens peuvent également demander, comme aide à la traduction, un formulaire type multilingue, dont il existe une version dans chaque langue de l'UE, disponible ici;
  • le règlement instaure des garde-fous contre la fraude: si une autorité destinataire a des doutes raisonnables quant à l'authenticité d'un document public, elle pourra le vérifier auprès de l'autorité de délivrance de l'autre pays de l'Union en passant par une plateforme informatique déjà en place, le système d'information du marché intérieur («IMI»).
A noter aussi que les documents publics délivrés par les autorités de pays tiers n'entrent pas dans le champ d'application du présent Règlement.

De plus, les accords et arrangements en matière de légalisation ou de formalités similaires pour des documents publics relatifs à des questions relevant du présent règlement qui sont délivrés par les autorités d'États membres ou de pays tiers et qui sont destinés à être utilisés dans les relations entre les États membres et les pays tiers concernés ne peuvent pas affecter l'application du présent règlement.