IMM INVEST ROMANIA: LIGHTER ACCESS CONDITIONS The GEO no. 89/2020 published in the Official Gazette no. 458 of May 29, 2020 comes with a new legislative framework aimed at simplifying and easing access to financing for SMEs under the program IMM Invest Romania.

The normative act adopted by the Government, on the one hand, broadens the range of eligible beneficiaries for the program aimed at granting State guarantees for loans signed up by the beneficiaries with loan facilities and on the other hand, modifies and amends State aids scheme aimed at supporting the activity of SMEs in the context of the economic crisis caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Beneficiaries of the program IMM INVEST Romania

In the light of the new legislative provisions, the beneficiaries of the program are SMEs pursuing an economic activity (production, trade or services), namely companies existing and operating under the Law on companies no. 31/1990, cooperative societies, self employed natural persons, owners of family owned companies or individual undertakings, but also – and this is news – non-governmental organizations, associations and foundations or, under certain conditions, agricultural cooperatives and agricultural cooperative societies pursuing economic activities.

For the record, the program allows the beneficiaries to access investment loans and / or working capital loans / credit lines State guaranteed via FNGCIMM (Guarantee National Fund for SMEs).

The maximum guaranteed ceiling amounts to 15 billion RON.
Depending on the type of beneficiary (SME or microenterprise) and the type of loan signed up for (investment loan and / or working capital), the State can guarantee 80% or 90% of the amount of the loan, with no interest, guarantee fees or other fees for the beneficiaries. All fees in relation with the funding are 100% subsidized by the State budget until December 31, 2020, with a possibility for extension.
The maximum value of the loans to be signed up for can go up to 10 million Lei for investment loans and up to 5 million Lei for working capital, depending on the beneficiary of the credit (SME or microenterprise).

Conditions for access to IMM Invest Romania

The potential beneficiary must satisfy a series of cumulative eligibility conditions, amongst which we note:
  • Not to be in distress in the meaning of the points 20 and 24 of the Communication From The Commission - Guidelines on State aid for rescuing and restructuring non-financial undertakings in difficulty (2014/C 249/01), which means, for example, (i) for LTD or JSC – having not lost more than half of their share capital during the past 2 years and more than 1/4 during the past 12 months; (ii) for companies whose the shareholders, at least a part thereof, are bound by unlimited liability with respect to the debts of the company, having not lost more than half of their share capital during the past 2 years and more than 1/4 during the past 12 months; this rule does not apply to startups (that have not filed financial statements). As compared to the former regulation, the condition with respect to the company’s being impaired by the Covid-19 pandemic has been excluded!
  • Not to be under insolvency;
  • To provide collaterals to the credit facilities;
guarantees provided by the beneficiaries
Before being modified, the GEO no. 110/2017 stated that for the two types of loans available, the beneficiary had to provide the following guarantees, which have been excluded by the GEO no. 89/2020:
Immovable mortgage and / or movable to be provided by the beneficiaries and / or by the third party guarantors;
The legal movable mortgage on the universality of the movable or immovable assets, existing or future, intended for the activity of the beneficiary, including business capital and stocks;
Legal mortgage on the credit balance of all accounts opened by the beneficiary of the program with the loan or funding institution.
Therefore, the beneficiaries shall no longer have all the assets mortgaged in order to guarantee the loans, but shall only be subject to providing the following guarantees:
For investment loans, the legal immovable and or / movable mortgage on the assets funded by such loan;
For the loans / credit lines for working capital, the legal mortgage on the credit balance of all accounts opened by the beneficiary of the program with the credit or funding institution.

IMM INVEST ROMANIA : des Conditions allégées pour en bénéficier

De nouvelles modifications législatives visant à simplifier et à assouplir l’accès au financement des PME par l’intermédiaire du programme IMM Invest Romania ont été apportées par l’OUG no 89/2020 publiée au Journal Officiel no458 du 29 mai 2020.

L’acte normatif adopté par le Gouvernement élargit, d'une part, le registre des bénéficiaires du programme dont l'objectif est d'accorder des garanties de l'État pour les crédits contractés par les bénéficiaires auprès des institutions de crédit, et, d'autre part, modifie et complète le schéma d’aides d’Etat destiné à soutenir l'activité des PME dans le contexte de la crise économique générée par la pandémie de Covid-19.

Bénéficiaires du programme IMM INVEST Romania

Selon les nouvelles dispositions législatives, les bénéficiaires du programme sont les PME exerçant une activité économique (de production, commerce ou services), respectivement les sociétés régies par la loi sur les sociétés no. 31/1990, les sociétés coopératives, les personnes physiques autorisées, les propriétaires d'une entreprise individuelle ou familiale, mais également – et de date récente - les organisations non gouvernementales, les associations et les fondations ou, sous certaines conditions, les coopératives agricoles et les sociétés agricoles exerçant des activités économiques.

Pour mémoire, le programme permet aux bénéficiaires d'accéder à des crédits pour des investissements et / ou à des crédits/lignes de crédit pour le fonds de roulement, garantis par l'État via le FNGCIMM (Fond national de garantie des crédits pour les PME).

Le plafond maximum garanti alloué est de 15 milliards de lei.

Selon le type de bénéficiaire (PME ou microentreprise) et le type de crédit contracté (prêt d'investissement et / ou fonds de roulement), l'État peut garantir 80% ou 90% du montant du crédit, sans que les bénéficiaires soient obligés de payer des intérêts, des commissions de garantie ou d’autres taxes. Les frais de financement sont subventionnés à 100% sur le budget de l'Etat, jusqu'au 31 décembre 2020, avec possibilité de prolongation.

La valeur maximale des crédits à contracter peut aller jusqu'à 10 millions de lei pour les prêts d'investissement et jusqu'à 5 millions de lei pour le fonds de roulement, selon le bénéficiaire du prêt (PME ou microentreprise).

Conditions pour bénéficier du programme IMM Invest Romania

Pour être éligible, le bénéficiaire doit remplir plusieurs conditions cumulatives, parmi lesquelles on note :

  • Ne pas être en difficulté au sens des points 20 et 24 de la Communication de la Commission – Lignes directrices concernant les aides d’État au sauvetage et à la restructuration d’entreprises en difficulté autres que les établissement financiers (2014/C 249/01) ; cela signifie par exemple (i) pour les SARL, les SA – ne pas avoir perdu plus de la moitié de son capital social au cours des 2 dernières années et plus d’un quart de ce capital au cours des 12 derniers mois; (ii) pour les sociétés dont au moins une partie des associés sont tenus de façon illimitée pour les dettes de l’entreprise, lorsqu’elles n’ont pas perdu plus d’une moitié de leur capital propre au cours des 2 dernières années ou plus d’un quart de ce capital au cours des 12 derniers mois ; cela ne s’applique cependant pas aux start-up qui n’ont pas de situation financière déposée; Par rapport à l'ancienne réglementation, la condition selon laquelle l'activité de l'entreprise doit avoir été affectée par la pandémie de Covid-19 a été supprimée !
  • Ne pas faire l’objet d’une procédure d’insolvabilité;
  • Présenter des garanties collatérales à l’institution de crédit.

Les garanties à fournir par le bénéficiaire

Avant sa modification, l’OUG no 110/2017 prévoyait pour les deux types de crédits à contracter (prêts d'investissement et prêts de fonds de roulement), les garanties suivantes que le bénéficiaire devait offrir et qui ont été éliminées par l’OUG no. 89/2020:

  • L’hypothèque immobilière et / ou mobilière constituée par des bénéficiaires et / ou des tiers garants ;
  • L’hypothèque légale mobilière sur l'universalité des biens mobiliers ou immobiliers, présents ou futurs, destinés à l'activité du bénéficiaire, y compris les fonds de commerce et les stocks ;
  • L’hypothèque légale sur les soldes créditeurs de tous les comptes ouverts par le bénéficiaire du programme auprès de l'établissement de crédit de financement.

Ainsi, les bénéficiaires ne se verront plus imposer une hypothèque sur tous leurs actifs pour garantir les crédits, étant désormais tenus aux seules garanties suivantes:

  • Dans le cas des crédits d'investissement, l’hypothèque légale immobilière et / ou mobilière sur les actifs financés par le crédit ;
  • Dans le cas des crédits / lignes de crédit pour le financement du fonds de roulement, l’hypothèque légale sur les soldes créditeurs de tous les comptes ouverts par le bénéficiaire du programme auprès de l'établissement de crédit.