VAT REGISTRATION: NEW SIMPLIFIED PROCEDURE VAT registration procedure for companies has been simplified as of 1st of February 2019, at least in certain specific cases.

According to the Order of the President of the National Agency for Fiscal Administration (ANAF) no. 167/2019, which came into force on the 1st of February 2019, VAT registration can be done electronically on the same day as the submission of the registration file by the taxpayers for whom the application of VAT regime is optional.

BENEFICIARIES OF THE SIMPLIFIED PROCEDURE

The beneficiaries of this new VAT registration procedure are the companies opting for the VAT regime, namely the companies having a turnover surpassing the EUR 88,500 (an equivalent of RON 300,000) threshold of exemption of the VAT payment.

SUBMISSION OF VAT REGISTRATION DECLARATION

The sworn declaration concerning the VAT registration is to be transmitted exclusively via electronic means, alongside with the electronic signature. The document must contain information regarding mainly the following aspects:
  • Legal documents attesting the legal ownership of the space/spaces that are used as headquarters or/and declared secondary offices (rental agreement; bailment agreement, etc. and the duration of the contract);
  • Proof that no procedure of insolvency or annulment of the VAT registration has been launched against the taxpayer in question;
  • The absence of convictions from the tax record of the tax payer’s associates and administrators;
  • Number of the company’s employees;
  • The person or persons authorized to make transactions on the taxpayer’s banking account/s having the status of administrator or associate of the taxpayer;
  • The manner of organization and the bookkeeping.

The declaration must be drafted with the help of the assistance program available online on the Agency’s website. After the declaration is drafted and validated, it must be signed by hand by the administrators and associates, converted into ZIP format, attached to the declaration in PDF format, signed by the qualified digital certificate and consequently sent to the tax authority.

VAT REGISTRATION PROCEDURE

After having submitted the declaration via electronic means, the taxpayer must fill and submit to the tax authority the « Form 010 » and the note concerning the submission of the Declaration, without errors. The tax authority checks if the taxpayer has observed their obligation of transmitting the Declaration alongside with the handwritten signature of their trustees and associates.

If there are no errors ascertained during the submission of the Declaration, the decision of approval of the VAT registration request is delivered on the same day by the tax authority and the taxpayer is not running the risk of being included in the category of taxpayers with a high risk of non-compliance.

The taxpayer will receive the decision at the Headquarters of the tax body, and technically, the VAT registration certificate at the same time.

FALSE DECLARATIONS AND CONSEQUENCES

After having given its approval and transmitted the decision regarding the VAT registration, the Tax Administration proceeds to the verification of the data in the Declaration within 15 days from the date of the online application.
If during the evaluation mismatches between the information written in the declaration and the ledgers kept by the tax body are noticed, the tax body must refer to the Anti-Evasion General Directorate, for taking the necessary measures. At the same time, besides the criminal liability, the false declaration places the private individual/ legal entity in the category of high risk of non-compliance, in the context of the tax risk associated to the taxpayers having the status of administrator, associate/shareholder. The criteria used during the evaluation made by the National Agency for Fiscal Administration remain the same: namely, those contained in the sworn declaration.

IMMATRICULATION A LA TVA : NOUVELLE PROCEDURE SIMPLIFIEE La procédure d’immatriculation à la TVA des sociétés vient d’être simplifiée à partir du 1er février 2019, au moins dans certains cas précis.

En effet, l’Ordre du président de l’Agence Nationale d’Administration Fiscale (ANAF) no 167/2019, entré en vigueur le 1er février 2019, prévoit que l’immatriculation à la TVA peut se faire le jour même du dépôt du dossier par voie électronique, par les contribuables pour lesquels l’application du régime de TVA est optionnelle.

BENEFICIAIRES DE LA PROCEDURE SIMPLIFIEE

Les bénéficiaires de cette nouvelle procédure d’immatriculation à la TVA sont les assujettis qui optent pour le régime de TVA, c’est-à-dire les sociétés dont le chiffre d’affaires est en-dessous du seuil d’exemption du paiement de la TVA de 88.500 Euros (l’équivalent de 300.000 RON).

DEPOT DE LA DECLARATION D’IMMATRICULATION A LA TVA

La déclaration sur l’honneur concernant l’immatriculation à la TVA est transmise exclusivement par voie électronique, avec signature électronique. Le document doit contenir des informations concernant, principalement, les éléments suivants :
  • la preuve du siège social de la société (le titre en vertu duquel la société dispose du siège social, le contrat de location, contrat de commodat, etc. et la durée de validité de celui-ci) ;
  • l’attestation qu’aucune procédure d’insolvabilité ou d’annulation de l’immatriculation à la TVA n’a été ouverte envers le contribuable concerné;
  • l’absence d’infractions inscrites dans le casier fiscal des associés et des administrateurs du contribuable;
  • le nombre de salariés de la société;
  • la personne ou les personnes autorisées à effectuer des opérations sur le/les compte(s) bancaires du contribuable qui a (ont) la qualité d’administrateur ou associé de la personne imposable;
  • modalité d’organisation et de tenue de la comptabilité.

La déclaration doit être remplie à l’aide du programme d’assistance disponible en ligne sur le site internet de l’ANAF. Une fois remplie et validée, la déclaration doit être signée à la main par les administrateurs et les associés, transformée en format ZIP et le fichier attaché à la déclaration en format PDF signée par le certificat digital qualifié, puis transmise à l’autorité fiscale.

PROCEDURE D’IMMATRICULATION A LA TVA

Après dépôt de la Déclaration par la voie électronique, le contribuable doit remplir et déposer à l’organe fiscal le « Formulaire 010 » et le récépissé concernant le dépôt de la Déclaration, sans erreurs. L’organe fiscal vérifie que le contribuable a respecté son obligation de transmission de la Déclaration accompagnée par la signature manuscrite des administrateurs et des associés.

Sauf erreurs constatées lors du dépôt de la Déclaration, la décision d’approbation de la demande d’immatriculation à la TVA est délivrée le jour même par l’autorité et le contribuable ne risque pas d’être inclus dans la catégorie des contribuables à risque fiscal élevé.

Le contribuable reçoit la décision au siège de l’organe fiscal, théoriquement en même temps que le certificat d’immatriculation de la société à la TVA.

FAUSSES DECLARATIONS ET CONSEQUENCES

Après approbation et transmission de la décision d’immatriculation à la TVA, l’Administration fiscale procède à la vérification des données inscrites dans la Déclaration, dans un délai de 15 jours de la date de son dépôt.

Si, lors de l’évaluation, des différences sont observées entre les données communiquées dans la déclaration et les registres tenus par l’organe fiscal, celui-ci saisit la Direction Générale anti-fraude fiscale, en vue de la prise des mesures correspondantes. En même temps, outre la responsabilité pénale, les fausses déclarations placent la personne physique/morale dans la catégorie de risque élevé, dans le contexte du risque fiscal des contribuables détenant la qualité d’administrateur, associé / actionnaire. Les critères utilisés lors de l’évaluation faite par le Fisc restent les mêmes : ceux qui sont contenus dans la déclaration sur l’honneur.

DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES

La facilité introduite par cet acte normatif profitera aux assujettis qui demandent l’immatriculation à la TVA après la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’Ordre no 167/2019, publié au Journal Officiel no 80/31.01.2019, respectivement après le 1er février 2019.

Pour les demandes d’immatriculation à la TVA qui ont été déposées avant cette date et pour lesquelles la procédure d’évaluation du risque fiscal n’a pas été finalisée, on appliquera la procédure en vigueur au moment du dépôt de la demande.