The little known stories of the lawyer profession

A Famous Grandfather

Dana Gruia Dufaut says, in a humorous manner, that her passion for the lawyer profession was inspired by the genes inherited from her grandfather, Andrei Rădulescu, lawyer and magistrate, member and President of the Romanian Academy between 1946 and 1948, founder of the school of Romanian law studies and President of the High Court of Cassation and Justice. Graduate of the « Sf. Petru și Pavel » High School in Ploiesti, Andrei Rădulescu studied at the Faculties of Law, Letters and Philosophy in Bucharest and obtained his Law Degree in Liège (Belgium). For almost 30 years, he was the chairman of the Chair of Civil Law of the Bucharest Faculty of Law and of the Superior Academy of Commercial and Industrial Studies, between 1918 and 1947, where he taught Civil Law, as well as International Law courses; his students considered him a demanding teacher. As a judge, Andrei Rădulescu always refused to make compromises. He published studies on the ancient Romanian law and during the last years he coordinated the printing, in critical editions, of several ancient Romanian laws. An exceptional lawyer, he became, towards the end of his professional career, the President of the High Court of Cassation and Justice. A real visionary in his domain, Andrei Rădulescu often said that « a real patriot must be honest and work selflessly ».

Sarmiza BILCESCU - ALIMANISTEANU (1867 – 1935)

Sarmiza_BilcescuShe was the first woman doctor of law in the world and the first woman to regularly attend the courses of the Université Paris-1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. She obtained her degree in law on June 17th 1887 with her thesis titled « On the Legal Condition of the Mother ». Moreover, she was the first woman lawyer in Europe, becoming a member of the Ilfov Bar in 1891.
Nevertheless, the Bucharest Court of Cassation rejected her right to plead as a lawyer. Consequently, she was not allowed to exercise this profession and ultimately, in 1897, she waived her quality of lawyer. She was one of the founders of a committee coordinated by Queen Mary of Romania (1915) seeking to implement a higher level of professional training for women.

Olga PETIT (1870-1965)

DR0792... (born Scheina Lea-Balachowsky in Korson – today part of Ukraine) – on December 6th, 1900, she became the first woman to be sworn in and exercise the lawyer profession in France. Her law thesis was titled « Law and Ordinance in States where the Legislative and the Executive Powers are Not Separated ».

Jeanne CHAUVIN (1862-1926)

DR1233… on December19th 1900, she was sworn in before the Paris Court of Appeal, thus becoming the second woman to accede to the lawyer profession in France, after Olga PETIT. She had requested to be registered with the Paris Bar on November 24th 1897 and she appeared before the Paris Court of Appeal in order to be sworn in.
By a decision dated November 30th 1897, Chamber I of the Paris Court of Appeal rejected her request for admission. After Law no. 1900-1201 as of December 1st 1900 was voted, allowing women to be sworn as lawyers and to exercise this profession, she was admitted in this profession on December 19th 1900, 13 days after Olga PETIT.

Yolanda EMINESCU (1921-1998)

A Romanian lawyer specialized in intellectual property law, she was a lawyer at the Ilfov Bar until 1945, when she was appointed as a judge, part of the first generation of woman judges in Romania. She was a scientific researcher at the Romanian Academy. She also taught intellectual property law at the Law Faculties of the Bucharest and Strasbourg Universities. Yolanda EMINESCU was the daughter of Matei Eminescu, brother of the famous Romanian national poet, Mihai EMINESCU.

Robert BADINTER

... born on March 30th 1928, he is a lawyer specialized in criminal law, an academic and political figure, advocating for the abolishment of the death penalty, that he obtained in 1981. He took part to the drafting of the Romanian Constitution in 1991.

DID YOU KNOW THAT THEY WERE LAWYERS?

Des-avocats-par-Daumier...Francis Bacon, English philosopher and political figure ?
...Boileau, writer, member of the French Academy ?
...Pierre Corneille, writer, member of the French Academy ?
...La Bruyère, writer, member of the French Academy ?
...John Locke, English philosopher ?
...Danton, French revolutionary ?
...Carlo Goldoni, Venetian playwright ?
...Thomas Jefferson, inventor, third President of the United States of America ?
...Goethe, German writer ?
...Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States of America ?
...Walter Scott, Scottish writer ?
...Alexis de Tocqueville, historian, political figure, writer, member of the French Academy ?
...Aristide Briand, President of the French Council, winner of the Nobel Prize for Peace ?
...Gandhi, « Father of the Indian Nation» ?
...Woodrow Wilson, president of the United States of America, winner of the Nobel Prize for Peace ?
...Robert Schuman, President of the French Council, President of the European Parliament ?

Histoires inédites de la profession d'avocat

Un grand-père célèbre

Dana Gruia Dufaut dit, sur un ton de plaisanterie, que sa passion pour le droit lui aurait été insufflée par les gènes héritées de son grand-père, Andrei Rădulescu, juriste et magistrat, académicien et Président de l’Académie Roumaine entre les années 1946-1948, fondateur de l’école pour l’étude du droit roumain et président de la Haute Cour de Cassation et de Justice. Diplômé du Lycée « Sf. Petru și Pavel » de Ploieși, Andrei Rădulescu a suivi les cours des Facultés de Droit, Lettres et Philosophie de Bucarest et a obtenu son diplôme de licence en Droit à Liège (Belgique). Pendant presque 30 années, il a été le titulaire de la Chaire de Droit Civil de la Faculté de Droit de Bucarest et de l’Académie des Hautes Etudes Commerciales et Industrielles, pendant la période 1918-1947, où il a enseigné tant le droit civil, que des cours de droit international, droit commercial et constitutionnel, ses étudiants le considérant un professeur exigeant. En tant que magistrat, il a toujours refusé de faire des compromis. Andrei Rădulescu a publié notamment d’études concernant l’ancien droit roumain, et pendant la dernière période il a dirigé les ouvrages d’impression, en éditions critiques, de plusieurs anciennes lois roumaines. Juriste exceptionnel, il est devenu, vers la fin de sa carrière professionnelle, Président de la Haute Cour de Cassation et de Justice. Un vrai visionnaire dans son domaine, Andrei Rădulescu disait souvent qu’«un vrai patriote doit être honnête et travailler de manière désintéressée ».

Sarmiza BILCESCU - ALIMANISTEANU (1867 – 1935)

Sarmiza_BilcescuA été la première doctoresse en droit dans le monde et la première femme à suivre régulièrement les cours à l'Université Paris-1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Elle obtient sa licence en droit le 17 juin 1887 et sa thèse de droit a été intitulée «De la condition légale de la mère». De même, elle a été la première femme avocat en Europe, étant inscrite au barreau d'Ilfov en 1891.
Toutefois, la Cour de Cassation de Bucarest a rejeté son droit de plaider en tant qu'avocat. Par conséquent, elle n'a pas pu exercer la profession d'avocat, en renonçant à sa qualité d'avocat (1897). Elle a été l'une des fondatrices d'un comité placé sous la coordination de la Reine Marie (1915), visant à mettre en œuvre un niveau plus élevé de l'instruction des femmes.

Olga PETIT (1870-1965)

DR0792...(née Scheina Lea-Balachowsky à Korson - aujourd'hui en Ukraine) - le 6 Décembre 1900 devenait la première femme à prêter serment et à exercer la profession d'avocat en France. Elle a soutenu une thèse en droit ayant pour titre « La loi et l'ordonnance dans les Etats qui ne connaissent pas la séparation des pouvoirs législatif et exécutif ».

Jeanne CHAUVIN (1862-1926)

DR1233...le 19 décembre 1900 a prêté serment devant la Cour d'Appel de Paris, devenant la deuxième femme à entrer dans la profession d'avocat français après Olga PETIT. Elle avait sollicité l'inscription au Barreau de Paris le 24 novembre 1897 et s'est présentée devant la Cour d'Appel de Paris afin de prêter serment.
Par un arrêt en date du 30 novembre 1897, la 1ère chambre de la Cour d'Appel de Paris rejeta sa demande d'admission à la prestation du serment. Après le vote de la loi no. 1900-1201 du 1 décembre 1900, ayant pour objet de permettre aux femmes munies des diplômes de licence en droit de prêter le serment d'avocat et d'exercer la profession, elle est admise dans la profession le 19 décembre 1900, 13 jours après Olga PETIT.

Yolanda EMINESCU (1921-1998)

Juriste roumaine spécialiste en droit de la propriété intellectuelle, elle a été avocate au Barreau d'Ilfov jusqu'au 1945, au moment où elle a été nommée juge, faisant partie de la première génération de femmes-juges en Roumanie. Elle a été chercheur scientifique à l'Académie Roumaine. Elle a enseigné le droit de la propriété intellectuelle aux Facultés de Droit des Universités de Bucarest et Strasbourg. Yolanda EMINESCU est la fille de Matei Eminescu, le frère du fameux poète national, Mihai EMINESCU.

Robert BADINTER

... né le 30 mars 1928 est un avocat spécialiste en droit pénal, universitaire, essayiste et homme politique, adversaire de la peine de mort dont il obtient l'abolition en 1981. Il a participé à la rédaction de la Constitution Roumaine de 1991.

SAVIEZ-VOUS QU'ILS ONT ÉGALEMENT ÉTÉ AVOCATS?

Des-avocats-par-Daumier...Francis Bacon, philosophe et homme politique anglais ?
...Boileau, écrivain, membre de l'Académie Française ?
...Pierre Corneille, dramaturge, membre de l'Académie française ?
...La Bruyère, écrivain, membre de l'Académie française ?
...John Locke, philosophe anglais ?
...Danton, révolutionnaire français ?
...Carlo Goldoni, dramaturge vénitien ?
...Thomas Jefferson, Inventeur, troisième président des États-Unis ?
...Goethe, écrivain allemand ?
...Abraham Lincoln, président des États-Unis ?
...Walter Scott, écrivain écossais ?
...Alexis de Tocqueville, historien, homme politique, écrivain, membre de l'Académie française ?
...Aristide Briand, président du Conseil français, prix Nobel de la Paix ?
...Gandhi, « Père de la Nation » indienne ?
...Woodrow Wilson, président des États-Unis, prix Nobel de la Paix ?
...Robert Schuman, président du Conseil français, président du Parlement européen ?