FREIGHT TRANSPORT & COVID-19: EUROPEAN ORIENTATIONS FOR ENSURING THE FLOW The European Commission is working on the guidelines for gradual lifting of the confinement rules in the freight sector, which are consistent with those delivered in March and that are meant to ensure undisrupted circulation of goods all over the EU territory by using priority lanes.

Waiting for those new guidelines to be issued by the Commission, aimed this time to support economy and sales getting back on track, while focusing on containing the outbreak and in consistency with the health challenges, we propose you here below review on the practical guidelines delivered by the European Executive lately.


DEROGATION FROM MOVEMENT REGULATIONS FOR TRANSPORTERS


The European Commission has recommended to the State Members to derogate from certain rules, namely those regarding the movement restrictions and mandatory placement under quarantine, as a relief measure for the workers in the transport sector.

The Commission also recommended that the administrative formalities regarding the work force in the transport sector are eased.

An internationally recognized certificate of professional competence should be considered sufficient to prove that a worker is active in international transport.
In the absence of such a certificate (as not all the international drivers hold one) a letter signed by the employer should suffice.

Finally, the Commission advised that health and safety of transport workers is ensured by reinforcing hygiene and operational measures in all airports, ports, train stations and other land transport hubs.


BORDER CROSSING POINTS FOR GREEN LANES


In order to ensure unobstructed flow of the supply chains at the level of the EU, member States have been asked to designate the relevant internal border-crossing points of the TEN-T as “green lane” border crossings. Such “green lane” border crossings are to be opened to all freight vehicles (all heavy and light duty vehicles) irrespective of the type of goods carried.

As part of the overall effort to smooth freight flows by minimizing procedures to be performed at the “green lane” border crossings, member States have been advised that checks and health screenings are limited to maximum 15 minutes. Moreover, drivers should not be asked to produce any other documents than their ID and driving licence and, as appropriate, a standard letter issued by their employer (electronic submission / display accepted) and that without leaving the vehicle during such check.


INCREASED COOPERATION BETWEEN EU MEMBER STATES AND BEYOND


The European Commission has implemented a national contact-points network and a platform in order to provide information about the measures undertaken by Member States impacting on transports as a response to the coronavirus epidemic.

First of all, cooperation between states lays on the principle of non-discrimination. Therefore, all drivers and freight vehicles are to be treated in a non-discriminatory manner, regardless of the country of registration of the vehicle, origin and destination or of the nationality of the driver. Member States shall not distinguish between vehicles carrying goods for use in their territory and those merely transiting.

Member States should ensure on their territory, on the main transport routes, availability of adequate sanitary facilities and food supplies / catering for transport workers.

Member States have also been urged to set up safe passage transit corridors to allow health and transport workers as well as all EU citizens being repatriated. Such transit corridors should allow them to directly pass with priority through the country in each necessary direction along the TEN-T Network.

At the same time, the Commission has advised certain derogations from driving limits for heavy trucks. The derogations by country are available here.


REMARK:


In Romania, the Military Ordinances no. 4/2020 and 7/2020 lay down a series of conditions to be observed by drivers of vehicles whose maximum authorised weight over 2,4 tons.

Therefore, pursuant to the Ordinance no. 7/2020, drivers entering in Romania and who do not display symptoms associated with COVID 19 must fill in a declaration under sole responsibility (using the template provided by the Ministry of Transports and Infrastructure) whereby they indicate the place where they can be found between voyages. They do not have to abide by the confinement at home / quarantine measures (as the truck drivers of vehicles under 2,4 tons), conditional upon their employer’s providing individual protection material against COVID-19, as protection masks and hydro-alcoholic gel..

In the same way, drivers who travel for work related reasons from and towards another UE Member State, as residence State of the driver, even if travelling in the freight vehicle or by individual or personal means – they shall produce upon entering in Romania a certificate issued by their employer.

Drivers who are in transit through Romania must affix on the windshield of their vehicle a special self-sticking sign (provided by the State Inspectorate for Road Transport Control) and be in possession of the transit form. They shall not be asked to fill in an epidemiological statement if they observe certain measures, failure to comply therewith may result in being placed under 14 days quarantine:


-Using only the transit corridors and the border crossing points at the State border; moving outside these points is prohibited;
-Transiting the territory during a the shortest time lapse without exceeding 48 hours since entering into Romania, stationing for daily rest included;
-Stationing only inside the parking places on the transit corridors accordingly marked as such


The list of provisions to be observed by transporters in Romania:


-Tachograph driver card / licences / professional certificates


According to the Decision no. 1/2020 of the Emergency Committee of the Romanian Route Authority (in Romanian Hotărârea nr. 1/15.03.2020 a Celulei de Urgență a Autorității Rutiere Române - A.R.R.) all documents required for delivery of licences/ certificates/ certified copies / permits / proofs / tachograph driver cards / control documents / badges shall be sent via post services (all courier irrespective of the sender country), with acknowledgement receipt.


-Vehicle Periodic checks


No automatic extension during the state of emergency.


-Certificate of employment


This document must be issued by the employer and produced by the driver when needed, either on paper or electronically, according to the provisions laid down in the Military Ordinances no. 2 and 3/2020.


-Driving licence / identification card


When such documents are due for renewal during the state of emergency, their validity is automatically extended to cover such duration. Extension applications may be submitted within a 90-day term since termination of the state of emergency.

Other information on the measures undertaken by Romania in the sector of transport are also available here.

TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES ET COVID-19: LES ORIENTATIONS EUROPEENNES POUR GARANTIR LA CONTINUITE La Commission Européenne est en train de préparer des recommandations sur le déconfinement dans les transports, qui suivent aux recommandations faites au mois de mars et qui étaient destinés à garantir la continuité de la circulation des marchandises sur tout le territoire de l’UE au moyen de voies réservées (« green lanes »).

En attentant ces nouvelles recommandations de la Commission, dont le but sera cette fois-ci de soutenir la reprise économique et la vente, en tenant compte des aspects sanitaires, nous vous rappelons ci-après les orientations pratiques rendues par l’exécutif européen ces derniers temps.


DEROGATION AUX REGLES DE DEPLACEMENT POUR LES TRANSPORTEURS


La Commission Européenne a recommandé aux Etats membres de déroger à certaines règles, notamment celles relatives aux restrictions de déplacement et à la mise en quarantaine obligatoire, en faveur des travailleurs du secteur des transports.
Elle a recommandé également d’alléger les formalités administratives requises à l’égard de ces mêmes travailleurs du secteur des transports. Un certificat d'aptitude professionnelle reconnu au niveau international devrait être considéré comme suffisant pour prouver qu'un travailleur exerce une activité dans le secteur des transports internationaux. En l'absence de ce type de certificat (tous les conducteurs internationaux n'en possèdent pas), il convient d'accepter une lettre signée par l'employeur.
La Commission a enfin préconisé de garantir la sécurité de ces travailleurs en renforçant les mesures d’hygiène et les mesures opérationnelles dans les aéroports, les ports, les gares et autres nœuds de transports terrestres.


POINTS DE PASSAGE FRONTALIERS PAR LES VOIES RESERVEES


Afin de garantir que les chaînes d’approvisionnement continuent de fonctionner à l’échelle de l’UE, les Etats membres ont dû indiquer sur le réseau transeuropéen de transport RTE-T tous les points de passage pertinents de leur frontières, comme points de passage réservées. Ceux-ci sont ouverts aux véhicules de transport de marchandises (aussi bien aux poids lourds qu’aux véhicules utilitaires légers), quelles que soient les marchandises qu’ils transportent.

Pour réduire au maximum les procédures à remplir dans ces points de passage frontaliers, les Etats étaient conseillés de prendre des mesures, afin que les éventuels contrôles et dépistages portant sur la santé des transporteurs n’excèdent pas 15 minutes. De plus, les conducteurs des véhicules de transport de marchandises ne devraient pas avoir à présenter d'autres documents que leur pièce d'identité et leur permis de conduire et, le cas échéant, une lettre de leur employeur (présentation électronique acceptée), le tout sans quitter leur véhicule lors du contrôle.


COOPERATION RENFORCEE ENTRE LES ÉTATS MEMBRES DE L'UE ET AU-DELA


La Commission européenne a mis en place un réseau de points de contact nationaux et une plateforme (https://ec.europa.eu/transport/coronavirus-response_en) pour fournir des informations sur les mesures prises par les Etats membres en matière de transport en réponse à l’épidémie du coronavirus.

Tout d’abord, la coopération entre les Etats repose sur le principe de la non-discrimination. Ainsi, tous les conducteurs et véhicules de transport de marchandises devraient être traités sans discrimination, quels que soient le pays d’immatriculation du véhicule, son origine, sa destination ou la nationalité du conducteur. Les Etats membres ne devraient pas opérer de distinction entre les véhicules transportant des marchandises destinées à être utilisées sur le territoire et ceux qui ne font que transiter.

Sur l’ensemble de leurs territoires, les Etats membres doivent veiller à ce que les travailleurs du secteur des transports aient accès à des installations sanitaires adéquats et à des produits d’alimentation et des possibilités de restauration en suffisance sur les principaux axes de transport.

Les Etats membres ont aussi été encouragés à mettre en place des couloirs de transit sûrs au bénéfice des travailleurs des secteurs de santé et des transports ainsi qu’aux citoyens de l’UE qui sont rapatriés. Ces couloirs de transit leur permettent d’avoir la priorité pour traverser le pays, dans le sens nécessaire, sur le réseau RTE-T. En même temps, la commission a recommandé certaines dérogations en ce qui concerne le temps de transport permis pour les camions de marchandise. Les dérogations par pays peuvent être consultées ici.


NOTE :


En Roumanie, les ordonnances militaires no 4/2020 et no 7/2020 imposent certaines conditions concernant les conducteurs des véhicules dont le poids total autorisé en charge est supérieur à 2,4 tonnes.
Ainsi, selon l’ordonnance no 7/2020, les conducteurs qui entrent en Roumanie sans présenter des symptômes associés au COVID 19 doivent remplir une déclaration sur l’honneur (sur le modèle fourni par le Ministère des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des communications) par laquelle ils déclarent le lieu où ils peuvent être contactés pendant la période de séjour entre deux déplacements. Ceux-ci ne sont pas soumis aux mesures de confinement à domicile/quarantaine (comme les conducteurs des camions de moins de 2,4 tonnes), à condition que l’employeur leur assure les matériaux individuels de protection contre le COVID- 19, tels que masques et gel hydro-alcoolique.
De même, les conducteurs qui se déplacent dans l’intérêt de leur profession, de et vers un autre Etat membre de l’UE, en tant qu’Etat de résidence du conducteur auto, même si le déplacement est effectué à l’intérieur du véhicule de transport de marchandises ou par des moyens individuels ou personnels –doivent présenter à l’entrée en Roumanie une attestation de leur employeur.

Les conducteurs qui sont en transit en Roumanie sont obligés d’appliquer sur le parebrise de leur véhicule un autocollant spécial (mis à disposition par l’Inspectorat d’Etat pour le Contrôle du Transport Routier) et d’avoir sur eux le formulaire de transit. Ils ne sont pas tenus de remplir à l’entrée en Roumanie la déclaration épidémiologique, s’ils respectent certaines mesures, au risque d’être placés en quarantaine pour 14 jours:


-Utiliser uniquement les corridors de transit et les points de passage de la frontière d’Etat ; la circulation en dehors de ces points étant interdite ;
-Effectuer le transit du territoire dans un intervalle de temps minimal, sans dépasser 48 heures, à partir de l’entrée en Roumanie, y compris les périodes de stationnement pour le repos journalier ;
-Stationner avec son véhicule exclusivement dans les parkings situés sur les corridors de transit, marqués de manière appropriée ;
Liste de dispositions dont les transporteurs doivent tenir compte en Roumanie
-Card tachéographe / Licences / Attestations professionnelles


La Décision no 1/2020 de la Cellule d’urgence de l’Autorité Routière Roumaine (Hotărârea nr. 1/15.03.2020 a Celulei de Urgență a Autorității Rutiere Române - A.R.R.) les actes nécessaires en vue de la délivrance des licences / certificats / copies conformes / autorisations /attestations / cards tachéographes / documents de contrôle /écussons se transmettent via un service postal (tout service de courrier quel que soit le pays d’envoi ), avec accusé de réception.


-Inspection technique périodique (ITP)


Pas de prolongation automatique pendant la période de l’état d’urgence


-Attestation du salarié


Ce document doit être obligatoirement fourni par l’employeur et tenu sur soi par le chauffeur en format papier ou bien en format électronique, selon les dispositions comprises dans les ordonnances militaires 2 et 3/2020.


-Permis de conduire /carte d’identité


Pendant la période de l’état d’urgence la validité de ces documents est prolongée automatiquement jusqu’à la fin de l’état d’urgence. Les demandes de prolongation peuvent être déposées ultérieurement dans un délai de 90 jours de la fin de la période de l’état d’urgence.

D’autres informations utiles sur les mesures prises par la Roumanie en matière de transport peuvent être consultés sur la plateforme.